Jason, Blake, Taylor and Brad Lead the CMA Noms

The usual country superstars led the way with today’s nominations for the CMA Awards which will air Wednesday Nov. 9th on ABC hosted by nominees Brad Pailsey and Carrie Underwood. The duo who have won multiple CMA’s in the past will host for the fourth year in a row and Paisley ties Jason Aldean, Taylor Swift and Blake Shelton for most nods with 5 apiece. All four are nominated for Entertainer of the Year alongside Keith Urban. Take a look at the full list which also includes Grammy winning pop stars Sheryl Crow and Kelly Clarkson who will vie in the Country Vocal Event Category. For more on the CMA’s head to the link below.


2011 CMA Award Nominations

Vocal Group Of The Year
The Band Perry
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Male Vocalist Of The Year
Jason Aldean
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Sara Evans
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

New Artist Of The Year
The Band Perry
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Thompson Square
Chris Young

Entertainer Of The Year
Jason Aldean
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Taylor Swift
Keith Urban

Vocal Duo Of The Year
Civil Wars
Montgomery Gentry
Steel Magnolia
Thompson Square

Single Of The Year (award to artists and producers)
Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson, “Don’t You Wanna Stay” – produced by Michael Knox
The Band Perry, “If I Die Young” – produced by Paul Worley
Sara Evans, “A Little Bit Stronger” – produced by Tony Brown
Blake Shelton, “Honeybee” – produced by Scott Hendricks
Zac Brown Band, “Colder Weather” – produced by Keith Stegall and Zac Brown

Album Of The Year (award to artists and producers)
Jason Aldean, My Kinda Party – produced by Michael Knox
Brad Paisley, This Is Country Music – produced by Frank Rogers
Blake Shelton, All About Tonight (ed note: LOL, this is one of his EPs) – produced by Scott Hendricks
Taylor Swift, Speak Now – produced by Nathan Chapman & Taylor Swift
Zac Brown Band, You Get What You Give – produced by Keith Stegall and Zac Brown

Song Of The Year (award to songwriters)
Zac Brown, Wyatt Durrette, Levi Lowrey, and Coy Bowles, ”Colder Weather” (performed by Zac Brown Band)
Brantley Gilbert, Colt Ford – “Dirt Road Anthem” (performed by Jason Aldean)
Kimberly Perry – “If I Die Young) (performed by The Band Perry)
Taylor Swift – “Mean” (performed by Taylor Swift)
Matraca Berg & Deana Carter – “You & Tequila” (performed by Kenny Chesney and Grace Potter)

Musical Event Of The Year
“As She’s Walking Away” – Zac Brown Band featuring Alan Jackson
“Coal Miner’s Daughter” – Loretta Lynn featuring Miranda Lambert and Sheryl Crow
“Don’t You Anna Stay” – Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson
“Old Alabama” – Brad Paisley featuring Alabama
“You & Tequila” – Kenny Chesney featuring Grace Potter

Video Of The Year
“Honeybee” (Blake Shelton, directed by Trey Fanjoy)
“If I Die Young” (The Band Perry, directed by David McClister)
“Mean” (Taylor Swift, directed by Declan Whitebloom)
“Old Alabama” (Brad Paisley featuring Alabama, directed by Jim Shea)
“You & Tequila” (Kenny Chesney & Grace Potter, directed by Shaun Silva)

Musician Of The Year
Sam Bush – Mandolin
Jerry Douglas – Dobro
Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar
Dann Huff – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar

And here’s my fave country song (let’s be honest song period) of this past year, a double nominee~ Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson’s “Don’t You Wanna Stay” which they premiered on this awards show last year. Here’s that performance. Enjoy!


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: