My Top 5 Albums of 2011

I’m way behind on all my recaps for the year, but here’s a quickie to tide you over… Check out my top five albums of 2011… Now, I have to put a little asterisk on this list because like most pop music listeners, and ahem, teenagers, I am more of a singles buyer these days. It brings me back to my youth! And let’s be honest, most albums are just really good for a few songs. Rarely does a masterpiece that is brilliant from beginning to end happen anymore. But it sure did with the top-selling and critically acclaimed, soon to be Grammy winning, 21 by Adele. It’s pretty much perfect and it’s my fave of the year. Take a gander at the rest of my top 5 below (and some choice tracks from each album) and watch for more on the year in music to come.

My Top 5 Albums of 2011:

1. 21- Adele: basically every song was flawless, heart wrenching and beautiful. It already has yield two #1 singles “Rolling in the Deep” and “Someone Like You” and “Set Fire to the Rain” just hit the top ten. Watch for this hit heavy record to continue to thrive in 2012. It’s also the biggest selling album in the US since 2004 as it nears 6 million copies sold.
Adele “Rumour Has It”

2. Stronger– Kelly Clarkson: this Grammy winning came back with a vengeance and arguably her strongest record to date. It features the top ten smash “Mr. Know It All” and the #1 country and AC duet “Don’t You Wanna Stay” with Jason Aldean. Watch for several more smashes on the way. And damn does she have some soul for the girl next door.
Kelly Clarkson “What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)”

3. Lady Gaga- Born This Way: with the biggest sales week of the year at over 1 million units on its debut, Gaga’s third record was another smash. It yielded the hits “Born This Way” (# 1), “The Edge of Glory” (# 3), “You and I” (# 6), Judas (#10) and “Marry The Night” which just went top 40. It was more fabulous fancy fun dance pop from Gaga.
Lady Gaga “Hair”

4. Body Talk– Robyn: this Swedish dance chanteuse cranked out dance smash after smash from this album grabbing a Grammy nomination last year and two more this year. All the tracks are infectious and unique and it’s hard to pick just one favorite. She also is finally breaking through in the US, thank goodness!
Robyn “Call Your Girlfriend”

5. Nothing But the Beat- David Guetta (with various artists): this dance smash was a nonstop party with wonderful pairings from the French DJ and artists like Jennifer Hudson (the anthemic “Night of Your Life”), Jessie J, Will I Am, and Usher (the top five smash “Without You”). But the best was the brilliant and haunting “Titanium” with Sia.
“Titanium”- David Guetta w/Sia

So those are my favorites. What are yours? And who are you looking forward to in the next year. I don’t know about you, but I’m counting the days til the new releases from Madonna and Adam Lambert.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My Top 5 Albums of 2011”

  1. My Music Roundup for 2011 « Jason in Hollywoodland Says:

    […] other day I posted my top five albums for 2011 led by the one and only Adele whose album 21 stole everyone’s heart including mine. […]

Leave a Reply

