My Music Roundup for 2011

The other day I posted my top five albums for 2011 led by the one and only Adele whose album 21 stole everyone’s heart including mine. Every song on it was brilliant and two of them end up on my top 5 songs list for this year. Now, remember this list is what I liked the most, so don’t giggle when you see a lot of pop divas. Let’s be honest, they are my favorites. I do love all kinds of music, but the divas do rule the day… Anywho, take a look at my top 20 Singles for 2011 and more music notes about the year below.

My Top 25 Songs of 2011:

1. “Don’t You Wanna Stay”- Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson

2. “Someone Like You” – Adele

3. “We Found Love”- Rihanna w/Calvin Harris

4. “Rolling in the Deep”- Adele

5. “Fuckin’ Perfect”- P!nk

6. “Born This Way”- Lady Gaga
7. “Firework”- Katy Perry
8. “Mr. Know It All”- Kelly Clarkson
9. “Run”- Matt Nathanson & Sugarland
10. “Give Me Everything Tonight”- Pitbull w/Ne Yo, Nayer & Afrojack
11. “The Edge of Glory”- Lady Gaga
12. “Grenade”- Bruno Mars
13. “For the First Time”- The Script
14. “Moves Like Jagger”- Maroon 5 w/Christina Aguilera
15. “S & M”- Rihanna
16. “Party Rock Anthem”- LMFAO
17. “Pumped Up Kicks”- Foster the People
18. “On the Floor”- Jennifer Lopez w/ Pitbull
19. “Call Your Girlfriend”- Robyn
20. “Uncharted”- Sara Bareilles
21. “Fuck You”- Cee Lo Green
22. “Sexy and I Know It”- LMFAO
23. “I Wanna Go”- Britney Spears
24. “E.T.”- Katy Perry w/ Kanye West
25. “Just a Kiss”- Lady Antebellum

And some random musings….

Favorite Dance Tracks (that didn’t make the top 25)…
“Night of Your Life”- David Guetta w/ Jennifer Hudson
“Higher”- Taio Cruz w/Travie McCoy & Kylie Minogue
“Save the World”- Swedish House Mafia
“Hello”- Martin Solveig
“Put Your Hands Up (If You Feel Love)”- Kylie Minogue
“Good Girl”- Alexis Jordan

Songs by Tween Titans that won me over:
“Love You Like a Love Song”- Selena Gomez & The Scene
“Skyscraper”- Demi Lovato

Album I was surprised to really like: Country Strong soundtrack (featuring Gwyneth Paltrow, Leighton Meester, Faith Hill, Sara Evans, Tim McGraw, etc)

Song that Beat me into submission til I loved it: “E.T.”- Katy Perry w/Kanye West
Stupidest Song of the year (and perhaps ever): “Red Solo Cup”- Toby Keith
Song I never want that I never want to hear again: “Hey Soul Sister”- Train
Most Disappointing Album: 4 by Beyonce

Best Glee cover: “Rumour Has It/Someone Like You” (both originally by Adele)

Most Fun Trend in Music: Potty Mouth Songs….
“S & M”- Rihanna
“Tonight I’m Fucking You”- Enrique Iglesias
“Fuck You”- Cee Lo Green
“Fuckin’ Perfect”- Pink

Please take a Loooooooooong Nap: Taylor Swift
Please go away and never come back: Justin Bieber
Sorry, it’s apparently never going to happen: Nicole Scherzinger’s solo career

So, there’s a brief recap of some of my favorite songs and some fun musings on the music biz from last year… Who were your faves? And who are you looking forward to in 2012? … For me, it’s Madonna, but I bet you could’ve figured that out. =)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

