My Top 20 Movies of 2011

With box office grosses down and a ton of lackluster films in the marketplace, you’d think it might be hard to find 20 good movies from the past year. But I did. In fact, there were a lot of good movies released in 2011. They just tended to be smaller indie films like Martha Marcy May Marlene or Beginners. However, there were some big studio films that were hits with critics, audiences and me like The Help and the final Harry Potter. So, just what made my end of the year list? … Take a look below.

* First, I have to say there are a few that I haven’t seen yet. I know, bad me… Those films are:  Shame, Rango and We need to Talk About Kevin
now, the list…

My Top 20 Movies of 2011:
1. The Help
2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
3. War Horse
4. 50/50
5. The Artist

6. Drive
7. Beginners
8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2
9. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
10. Bridesmaids
11. Crazy Stupid Love
12. Martha Marcy May Marlene
13. Albert Nobbs
14. The Iron Lady
15. The Muppets
16. My Week with Marilyn
17. We Were Here
18. Super 8
19. The Ides of March
20 TIE:  Margin Call  & Midnight in Paris

Honorable Mention: The Whistleblower, Jane Eyre, Gun Hill Road, Warrior, Moneyball

Best Acting Performance of 2011: Meryl Streep in The Iron Lady
Best Movie that I saw at Festival: The Green
Best Comedy: Bridesmaids
Best Family Film: The Muppets
Best Super Hero Movie: Thor

Worst 5 Movies I saw:
1. Paul
2. Transformers: Dark of the Moon
3. Cowboys & Aliens
4. Limitless
5. Larry Crowne

There is my list. I may be changing it as I catch up with a few more Oscar contenders, but heck it’s January 3rd. I had to post it already. What are your thoughts? What are your faves? Sound off below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Top 20 Movies of 2011”

  1. Linda Fraser Says:

    I met you at the French Marketplace after the Sunday morning meeting at the Log Cabin. I was the black woman who told you that I go to movies a lot. I just located your blog and I have some comments about your Top 20 Movies of 2011:

    Of course I loved The Help. I think I am Octavia Spencer. But I just saw Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close and I think it is my tie with The Help for best movie. I thought the Incredibly Close screenplay was a stroke of genius. And I loved Max van Sydow’s performance.

    I enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’ve read all the books and seen all the Swedish versions and I have a warm place in my soul for the series. One of my passwords is Larsson.

    I haven’t seen War Horse, but a person here at work said it was excellent. I don’t disagree with 5, 7, 9, and 10, but I haven’t seen 50/50 or Beginners (which I really want to see). I disagree on Martha Marcy because the end made me feel like they’d chopped off an important piece of the movie.

    I haven’t seen Albert Nobbs. How are you seeing all of these movies already? I have not yet seen the Iron Lady either, but I will see both. I didn’t see the Muppets and probably won’t see it.

    I didn’t like Marilyn. I thought it was a waste of time.

    I don’t know what We Were Here is. I loved Super 8. I’m more iffy about The Ides of March. I thought the young guy’s performance (I’m sorry, his name escapes me) wasn’t as good as the role. I haven’t seen Margin Call, but I’m looking forward to it. And I loved, loved, loved Midnight in Paris, although I found the music a little too loud.

    I think the best performance was the little boy, Thomas Horn, in Incredibly Loud. I was astounded by his performance. I think the best comedy was indeed Bridesmaids and I agree that one of the worst movies was Larry Crowne. I kind of liked Limitless, though, as unrealistic as is was.

    One movie that wasn’t on your list as either good or bad was Moneyball. I really don’t care about sports, but this movie was innovative and I enjoyed it.

  2. jasonboegh Says:

    Just had to add “Drive” to the top ten. What an awesome dark thriller with incredible direction, performances and cinematography. And a great soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

