David Fincher and his “Dragon Tattoo” Break into the DGA Nominations

This awards season has seen a few films emerge as Oscar front-runners. Among them are The Artist, Midnight in Paris, Hugo and The Descendants. And the directors of all four of those films were nominated for the DGA Award this morning. However, the fifth nominee was a little bit of a surprise: David Fincher for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I have to say, while pundits are surprised, I am not. His film was my second fave of the year and I think it’s going to be a big Oscar player. I’m going out on a limb and saying the film and Fincher will both be in the Oscar race when nominations are announced in a few weeks. (I wouldn’t count out the film’s star, Rooney Mara, either. As audiences continue to find this film, they all love it)…. But the question is can Fincher win? I don’t know about that. I’d say it’s Scorcesse vs. Hazanavicius. Anywho, take a look at the nominees below and watch for the winner to be announced on January 28th in a ceremony hosted by Kelsey Grammar.

2012 Directors Guild Award Feature Film Nominees:

Woody Allen: Midnight in Paris (his 5th nomination)
David Fincher: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (3rd nom, 1 previous win for a commercial)
Michael Hazanavicius: The Artist (1st nom)
Alexander Payne: The Descendants (2nd nom)
Martin Scorcesse: Hugo (9th nom, 2 wins)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “David Fincher and his “Dragon Tattoo” Break into the DGA Nominations”

  1. appljuice Says:

    Can I just say I was surprised at how much I enjoyed “Midnight in Paris.” Shocker. Especially since I swore off of Woody Allen films. I wanted to like “The Girl…Tattoo” so much more. I couldn’t stop comparing it to the original (and not very old) Swedish version. Mnah. The film I’m pulling for: The Artist. I just like that it made me so happy on so many levels.

Leave a Reply

