The Voice is Silenced~ Farewell Whitney Houston

It is with a heavy heart that I write this post. One of my favorite artists of all time and the woman with what I consider the best voice ever, Whitney Houston, passed away earlier today. There are no details out yet other than she died in Los Angeles this afternoon at the age of 48. For more on the story, head here.
The six-time Grammy winner who sold over 200 million albums and has been named the “most awarded” artist in all of music, Houston was just an incredible talent and her loss is devastating. Not only was she an accomplished singer, but she was also a movie star (her final screen appearance will be in the movie musical remake of Sparkle due in August), a producer, and a mother to Bobbi Kristina. Whitney will forever be remembered for possessing the most talented set of pipes in the biz as she was dubbed “the voice”. There were even rumors that she would be performing tonight at her mentor Clive Davis‘s annual Grammy party. Alas, the voice was silenced too soon.
Yes, Houston had a tumultuous and tragic history with smoking, drugs and alcohol, but what I will always focus on is her music. She was unstoppable in the 80’s and early 90’s with mega smash albums like Whitney (the first album to debut at # 1 by a female artist), Whitney Houston, and her iconic Bodyguard soundtrack. In fact, Whitney was the first concert I went to in 1988 during her Whitney tour. I was transfixed by her glorious pipes and beautiful presence. She simply was astounding and I, along with so many of her fans, are crushed today. I wish her family all the best and will always treasure her music. I mean she left us a tremendous legacy of hits like the 14 week #1 smash “I Will Always Love You” and her record-setting 7 consecutive # 1 hits (“Saving All My Love for You”, “How Will I Know”, “The Greatest Love of All”, “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)”, “Didn’t We Almost Have It All”, “So Emotional” and “Where Do Broken Hearts Go”) just to name a few… In the next few days I will be posting more about this tragic loss, Houston’s accomplishments and my favorite Whitney music. For the moment, I’m just going to let her voice speak for itself.

Here’s Whitney’s triumphant performance of her Grammy nominated Olympic theme and # 5 hit from 1988 “One Moment in Time” on the Grammys. Enjoy and Rest in Peace Whitney. I will always love you indeed.

Whitney Houston “One Moment in Time” (live on the Grammys)

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

